Faith · Reading

Reading List 2016

Books can be taken anywhere.  I never leave home without one.  At the end of this post I’ve listed some of the books I read in 2015.

Here is a list of libros (books) I want to read in 2016.  Since I average about a book a month, these are only a few I would like to read before picking up others.  I added coffee recommendations as well.

hands

  1. Hands Free Mama:  A Guide to Putting Down the Phone, Burning the To-Do List, and Letting Go of Perfection to Grasp What Really Matters! by Rachel Macy Stafford

This was a Christmas gift and what a hint!  I took it well, friends.  I took it very well considering I was probably nose deep trying to post it on FB. That came to a screeching halt.  I’m not ashamed to admit I have a problem putting down my electronics.  I’m embracing the fault and wrapping my hands around this book.  It is my first read of 2016.

Coffee recommendation: STRONG.  Cafe Bustelo coffee. Make an espresso shot while you’re at it.

fringe

   2.  The Fringe Hours:  Making Time for You by Jessica N. Turner

As soon as I created my Twitter account, a tweet popped up on the release of this book and I immediately dug deeper.  All I had to read about the book was “take back the pockets of time” and I added it to my list immediately.

Coffee recommendation: TASTY.The Taste of San Antonio coffee beans are sold at the HEB Supermarket.  If you don’t live in Texas, I’m sorry. 😉

signs

 

3.  Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herrera

This is the story of a woman who crosses the US/Mexico border to deliver two secret letters.  I’m intrigued to see her journey as the layers unfold.  My stepfather came to the US from the US/Mexico border and any literature that surrounds that is worthy of praise.

Coffee recommendation: EARTHY.  Texas Pecan coffee beans are also sold at HEB in Texas.

brave

4.  Let’s All Be Brave: Living Life With Everything You Have by Annie F. Downs

I keep passing this book on the shelves and think I’ll get it on the next trip to the bookstore, but it never happens.  I’m making it a priority to read this in 2016.  Who doesn’t want to read from a “loud laugher?” I could use a little more courage.  I’m excited to read this one.

Coffee recommendation:  MOCHA.  Substitute regular milk for coconut milk.  Don’t gasp; we’re supposed to be brave.

uninvited

 

5. Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out and Lonely by Lysa TerKeurst

This book will release in August 2016.  It is Lysa’s new book and since I’ve read almost all of her books, it’s fitting that I also add this one to my shelf.  My favorite is “The Best Yes.”  Its pages are worn and I refer to it often.  I’m sure Uninvited will be just as wonderful.

Coffee recommendation: TEA.  I know I said coffee, but when I think of invitations I think of tea.  A great chai tea sounds beautiful to pair with this book.

interr

6.  Interrupted:  When Jesus Wrecks Your Comfortable Christianity by Jen Hatmaker

I have yet to read anything by Jen Hatmaker; I feel it’s time.  Nothing intrigues me more than knowing someone is willing to abandon the comfort (and there is a certain amount of comfort) of Christianity to find what it really means to walk with God given passion.

Coffee recommendation:  LATTE.  Soy latte.  Nothing interrupts your taste buds like soy anything in your coffee.

million

7.  A Million Little Ways:  Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily P. Freeman

She had me hooked at “Creating a life of meaning is not about finding that one great thing you were made to do, it’s about knowing the one great God you were made to glorify—in a million little ways.”  Put it in my cart please!

Coffee recommendation: SPICED.  A coffee of your choice.  Add a pinch of cardamom and cloves to the brew.  You won’t be disappointed.

books

This a quick glimpse of libros I read in 2015.

  1. “Becoming Maria” by Sonia Manzano
  2. “The Book of Unknown Americans” by Cristina Henriquez
  3. “An Altar in The World” by Barbara Brown Taylor
  4. “The Pearl that Broke Its Shell” by Nadia Hashimi
  5. “The Shock of the Fall” by Nathan Filer
  6. “When Living Was a Labor Camp” by Diana Garcia
  7. “The Best Yes” by Lysa TerKeurst
  8. “Te Prometo” by Victoria Garcia Zapata-Klein
  9. “Saving Your Marriage Before it Starts” by Parrot & Parrot
  10. “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed
  11. “You and Me Forever” by Francis Chan and Lisa Chan
  12. “Still Alice” by Lisa Genova
  13. “Unglued” by Lysa TerKeurst
  14. “What a Husband Needs from His Wife” by Melanie Chitwood
  15. “The Museum of Extraordinary Things” by Alice Hoffman
  16. “Eleanore and Park” by Rainbow Rowell – teen lit.

And so many more I am unable to remember at this hour.

What are you reading in 2016?  I’d love to know your list!  I’m also open to recommendations.  Send them my way.

I’m linked up at Cultivate Family Love’s Literacy Musings Monday.  Come join me to discover other book recommendations!

8 thoughts on “Reading List 2016

  1. You have a great reading list, Carolina! I’m currently reading “Lets All Be Brave ” with my 17 year old niece. I just finished “The 4 Dimensions of Extraordinary Leadership” by Jenni Catron. It’s a fantastic read. I’ve read several of Jen Hatmaker’s books. “For the Love” is hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I love the way you paired each book with a different coffee — as a coffee lover, I lift my mug to you! (sorry that it’s Keurig — but I’m super picky about what goes into my Keurig, does that count?)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your list, Carolina. The only one that I actually read was ‘You and Me Forever’. On my list right now are: Platform by Michael Hyatt, Will it Fly by Pat Flynn and Intentional Living by John Maxwell. I’ve also added Unfinished Business: Women Men Work Family to my wish list. Sometimes I have more books than I have time but I try to keep at it anyway. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment